Anil Deshmukh is arrested in reference to the corruption case against him, while Nawab Malik changed into arrested in reference to a money laundering case registered against fugitive gangster Dawood Ibrahim Kaskar and a number of his close friends.

A special court docket in Mumbai on Thursday rejected the plea of jailed former Maharashtra home minister Anil Deshmukh and minority affairs minister Nawab Malik in search of one day bail to vote inside the Rajya Sabha elections scheduled to be held on Friday.

Deshmukh turned into arrested in November remaining year in connection with the corruption case in opposition to him, while Malik turned into arrested in reference to a cash laundering case registered towards fugitive gangster Dawood Ibrahim Kaskar and some of his close pals.

The Enforcement Directorate had opposed the bail pleas of both the NCP leaders, saying that prisoners don’t have balloting rights underneath the Representation of the People Act, adding that a person restrained in jail can not vote in any elections, “whether or not he is underneath sentence or an undertrial that doesn’t make a distinction”.

The critical probe business enterprise had advised the special PMLA court docket that Anil Deshmukh is the primary accused inside the cash laundering case registered towards him and is presently in judicial custody. According to ED, Deshmukh had allegedly misused his position as the house minister and gathered ₹four.70 crore from numerous bars in Mumbai via some police officers.

Nawab Malik was arrested through the ED on February 23 this year in a money laundering case related to the sports of fugitive gangster Dawood Ibrahim and his aides.

The Rajya Sabha polls are extraordinarily vital for the Shiv Sena-Congress-NCP alliance. After more than many years, Maharashtra will witness a competition within the Rajya Sabha polls as there are seven candidates within the fray for 6 seats.

The ruling Shiv Sena has fielded candidates, its Maha Vikas Aghadi allies NCP and Congress have nominated one candidate every, while the competition BJP has positioned up three candidates. The contest lies between BJP’s Dhananjay Mahadik and Shiv Sena’s Sanjay Pawar.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!